NotSoZen YogaJen

Where’s Your Yoga Home?

Posted on: October 11, 2012

Om Sweet Om

Last week I wrote about finding my new yoga home at Yoga Vida. Inspired by a comment on that post that everyone should have a yoga home, I decided to compile a list of potential yoga homes for those yogis and yoginis still on the lookout for one. Here are the yoga studios in New York City and Brooklyn that I’ve called home through the years:

Jivamukti
Om (now closed)
Laughing Lotus
The Shala
Park Slope Yoga Center
Area Yoga
Bend & Bloom
Lucky Lotus Yoga
Yoga to the People

Last week I was flirting with the idea that Yoga Vida was my new yoga home, but this week I solidified my commitment and got a monthly unlimited class pack, with the goal of going at least three to four times a week.

There are many benefits of having a yoga home. First of all, it’s reinvigorated my enthusiasm for my practice. And it gives me a sense of community — there are lots of different classes I want to try and workshops offered frequently, and it’s a place I want to go and be a part of things. Especially living in a city where it’s easy to feel isolated and disconnected from others, I’m often searching for community to connect with. For me, a yoga home also provides consistency, stability, and a nurturing routine.

What about you — where’s your yoga home? And what do you love about it, what makes you call it home? Please add your yoga home to this list (include links and location if you’d like) in the comments!

8 Responses to "Where’s Your Yoga Home?"

I’m still playing around with finding my yoga home but I have to say I am in love with a quaint little studio called Grace and Glory in Linwood, NJ. It’s a brand new studio, the owner is an AWESOME inspiring yogini, and every time I leave class I feel opened and ready for life. What more can I ask for!?

Sounds wonderful! And I LOVE that opened and ready for life post-yoga feeling :)

Hi Jen (Rockstar) -
I have many yoga homes!!

The two studios I teach at – Nirvana Yoga in Richfield, Ohio and Yoga Bliss in Akron, Ohio – are on the top of my list – they both have a wonderful community and when I go I’m always filled with joy and lots of hugs!

I can find a yoga home on just about any beach I visit and call Firefly Beach in Huron, Ohio my summer yoga home. So many awesome yogis come there with me to experience the beauty of yoga with the sound of the waves and sunshine smiling down on them.

I’m excited to journey to many more beaches in my lifetime to find “my yoga home.”

Hoping I can get to NYC someday soon and take a class with you at Yoga Vida and they we can hop over to Laughing Lotus for another one! :)

Namaste,
Maria

Thanks for adding your yoga homes to this list, Maria! Let me know when you are NYC-bound, I’d love to hit the rockstar yoga circuit here with you :)

my yoga home will always be village yoga in santa cruz. all the teachers have been so nurturing to my practise. i’ve never felt more at home than when i’m at village yoga.

Thanks for adding your yoga home! And, the ultimate question for yoga trifecta perfection — is it near a burger place???

My yoga home in NYC is ISHTA Yoga. It is a community, a home, a connection. When friends come to visit me in NYC, whether they have a yoga or meditation practice, I bring them to my teacher (and the founder of ISHTA) Alan Finger’s meditation classes. I want them to meet my family here. When we leave, my friends say a combination of things that boil down to “Can I come back with you next time?” and “I feel so happy to know that you have such a wonderful family here in the city”

Love it. Thanks for the post, Jen! xoR

Sounds lovely! Thanks for contributing your yoga home to this list, Rebecca!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

